• Thank you to everyone who attended the new school drop-in - details are on the New School page

Governors at Goring Primary School

There are over 300,000 School Governors across England making them the largest group of volunteers in the country.

The governing body contributes to the school by fulfilling three roles:

  • Providing a strategic view
  • Acting as a critical friend
  • Ensuring accountability

Elected governors serve a four year term of office, which can be renewed after this period.  The Chair of Governors is elected annually.

The full governing body meets twice a term to receive a report from the Headteacher and to review the development of the school. In addition, governors share responsibility with the staff through sub-committees for areas such as:

  • Health and Safety
  • Safeguarding
  • Admissions
  • Buildings and Grounds
  • Finance
  • Curriculum and Staffing
  • Recruitment and Appointment of new staff

School Governing Body

Name Category of Governor Term
Iain Alexander Foundation - PCC 7 Sept 2018
Paul Boughton
Foundation - Vicar
Bridget Braham Foundation - PCC 7 July 2019
Vanessa Cooke Co-opted 21 Feb 2020
Lindsay Freeman Parent 5 March 2021
Nigel Gordon-Potts Foundation - Diocese 31 Aug 2017
Kerry Hughes Parent 1 Jan 2019
Steve Johnson Foundation - Diocese 6 July 2020
Tim Monk Staff 20 July 2019
Sarah Boulton-Jones  Clerk to the Governing Body  ongoing
Helen Scurr Foundation - PCC 1 Sept 2018
Claire Slade Local Authority 10 Mar 2019
Ros Walker Foundation - PCC 21 Jan 2018
Cerys Watson Parent 13 Oct 2017
Angela Wheatcroft Headteacher ongoing
Kathryn Wood Foundation - PCC 31 Aug 2018




Web Site Design, Development and Hosting by KA Technology